Roasted Vegetable Salad with Poached Egg & Blueberry Muffins

Roasted veggies are my go to for dinner. Just cut, throw in a pan with olive oil, salt and pepper (or anything else you might like or have) and let the oven do my cooking for me. Perfect. I failed to take pictures of this one but it was good.

Roasted Vegetable Salad with Poached Egg

25 minutes start to finish, serves 3-4

1 Potato

1 Sweet Potato

4 Carrots

1-2 Beets (be careful and wear an apron- these can get messy!)

1 package of greens (I use Organic Girl super greens because I love Swiss Chard)

half a loaf of sliced crusty wheat bread

3 eggs

shaved Parmesan

Pre-heat oven to 400 deg. Cut leaves and stem from beets (save for a later dish!) and wash beets. Wrap in foil and pop in bottom rack of oven. Cut remaining veggies into thin discs and toss in a roasting pan with a little olive oil, salt, and pepper. Place on top rack of the oven.

When veggies are about 5-10 mins from being done, bring to simmer (small bubbles) a small pot of water and add a little vinegar (I use white wine vinegar because I’m fancy). There should be enough water so the egg doesn’t touch the bottom of the pan. Here’s a fun trick- put a slice of bread in the toaster.

Crack 1-2 eggs in (depending on space in the pan). use a slotted spoon to corral the liquid around egg. I find my eggs come out better when I keep the water moving around it. When your toast pops up, your egg is light to med. Yum. Put in a bowl and set aside, repeat with other eggs and toast.

Take roasting pan out of oven, leave beets in.

This part isn’t necessary but I like to do it. Grab a large pan and add a smidgen of olive oil and throw in your greens. Warm slightly and coat until just shiny.

Take out your beets and open foil to let cool. You can let them cool for longer but I just man handled them while hot because I’m impatient. Peel or cut away skin and dice (can be messy!)

Plate greens, butter toast, add veggies on top. Add a poached egg. Drizzle with your favorite dressing (I love Brianna’s Real French Vinaigrette), add shaved cheese and devour.

By request of the Dutchman:

Perfect Blueberry Muffins (via Smitten Kitchen)

FunCoversI don’t need to adapt this very much because they are scrumptious. however, I did use 1/2 cup Whole Wheat Pastry Flour with 1 Cup Unbleached regular flour and would have used more if I hadn’t run out. Please note it HAS to be pastry flour. Whole wheat pastry flour and regular flour are pretty much interchangeable on a 1:1 ratio. In my experience, I have found that not to be true when using standard whole wheat flour. I also used both sour cream and Greek yogurt to get to 3/4 cup (using whatever was leftover from other adventures). Follow her recipe and the dough is very thick!

MuffinMix


It’s true, they are perfect. Tangy and moist and have a great muffin top. I’ll pop them in the microwave for 10 seconds in the AM and it’s like they just came out of the oven.MuffinsrDone

Leave a Reply

